top of page

Hall of Fame Committee

“Serving Tomorrow’s Leaders Today”

Screen Shot 2019-04-12 at 9.44.25 PM.png

Dr. Gertrude Jackson Hill, Chairperson

Wendell Phillips Hall of Fame Committee



The idea for the Wendell Phillips Hall of Fame grew out of the (75th) Diamond Jubilee Celebration of Wendell Phillips High School, held in 1979.  There, a group of thoughtful, visionary Phillipsites were inspired to create an alumni organization that could achieve two important goals: 1) present current and future students of Wendell Phillips High School with positive role models of outstanding achievement and service in their chosen professions and 2) provide scholarships to deserving Wendell Phillips High School graduates pursuing higher education.

The Hall of Fame Committee was established as a body to oversee and ensure the attainment of these goals.  These volunteer Hall of Famers diligently work year-round to promulgate the goals and uphold the mission of the Hall of Fame: Serving Tomorrow’s Leaders Today. Committee members, you continue to have my deepest appreciation and gratitude for your commitment and dedication.


Over its 40-year history, more than 500 alumni have been inducted into the Hall of Fame.  Their photographs line the walls of Wendell Phillips Academy High School.  The Hall of Fame hosts inductions and other celebratory activities, raises funds for scholarships, and mentors and counsels current students as well as Hall of Fame Scholarship recipients.


Wendell Phillips High School has the distinction of being the first predominantly Black high school in Chicago.  For 114 years, it has operated to educate and serve the children of its community and beyond.   

Screen Shot 2019-04-12 at 5.28.26 PM.png

Wendell Phillips

Hall of Fame Committee 



Ponce de Leon Cooke, Founding Chairperson*

Loretta Martin-Muhammad (Dr.), Chairperson Emerita*

Aretha Ryan Collins, Chairperson Emerita



Gertrude Hill Jackson (Dr.), Chairperson

Hubert C. Jackson, Jr., Vice Chairperson

Barbara Miller Vines (Dr.), Recording Secretary

Sheryl Y. Brown Rivers, Financial Secretary/Treasurer

Junette A. Smith (Dr.),  Corresponding Secretary

JoAnn Ries-Carter, Assistant Corresponding Secretary*

Rosetta Garrett, Parliamentarian



Joseph C. Banks

Dianna Caston

Edith Coleman Chears (Dr.)

JoAnn B. Dean

Howard L. Heath

Valerie T. Jefferies

Fannie M. McCullough (Rev.)

Joseph R. Miles

Kathleen Ollie

Billie L. Poe (Dr.)

Marilyn Pye-Sanders

Sylvia Reed

Janice Richardson

Mary Rush*

Charles E. Sims

Carolyn S. Smith, LTC, USA, Ret.

Julia M. Steele

Valerie I. White

Demetrious L. Woods


                                                                                                                                                *Charter Members

bottom of page